Go Solar New Jersey Civic Leaders Letter

Media Contacts
David Beavers

Environment New Jersey Research & Policy Center

 Dear state leaders: 

As local and state civic leaders, we encourage you to make solar energy a key element of New Jersey’s energy portfolio.

By using solar energy to power our homes, businesses, schools, farms and government buildings, we can reduce pollution, save consumers on their energy bills, and boost local economies. New Jersey has long been a leader in solar energy, yet we have still barely tapped the full potential of our solar resources. 

Solar is growing in New Jersey and across the country. Between 2010 and 2013, solar capacity in New Jersey grew by more than 66 percent per year.  In the first half of 2014, more than half of the new electric power capacity installed in the U.S. was solar.  This recent progress shows solar is poised to grow in leaps and bounds. 

Solar helps the environment, and it boosts local economies in the process.  Jobs in the solar industry grew ten times faster than the rest of the economy in 2013, as the solar industry added more new jobs than any other industry. And because solar has no fuel costs, it helps protect us from fluctuating fossil fuel prices.

Using solar here in New Jersey will help to protect our environment while creating local jobs that cannot be outsourced. 

By committing New Jersey to expanding solar, we are investing in a virtually limitless energy source with no fuel costs. For the sake of our environment, our health, and the economy, we ask that you join us in calling upon our state officials to commit to the goal of generating 20 percent of our electricity from solar by 2025. We can achieve that goal if we grow solar by approximately 21 percent annually.

The cost of solar is declining. The cost of air and water pollution from fossil fuels is growing, along with the threats posed by climate change. Please help to set strong goals for solar in New Jersey, to put us on a path to clean energy leadership.




Senator Jim Whelan
Legislative District 2


Assemblyman Daniel Benson
Legislative District 14


Assemblyman Reed Gusciora
Legislative District 15


Assemblyman Carmelo G. Garcia
Legislative District 33


Assemblyman Tim Eustace
Legislative District 38


Freeholder Thomas J. Sullivan
Bergen County Board of Chosen Freeholders


Freeholder Andrew Koontz
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder Samuel T. Frisby
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder Ann M. Cannon
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder Anthony P. Carabelli
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder John Cimino
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder Pasquale Colavita
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders

Freeholder Lucylle R. S. Walter
Mercer County Board of Chosen Freeholders


Committeeman John Graefe
Bethlehem Township


Councilman Anthony Costa


Committeeman John Moynihan
Bordentown Township


Mayor John J. Cosgrove
Borough of Fair Lawn

Councilman Kurt Peluso
Borough of Fair Lawn

Councilwoman Lisa Swain
Borough of Fair Lawn


Council President Armand Pohan
Borough of Fort Lee

Councilman Joseph Cervieri
Borough of Fort Lee

Councilwoman Ila Kasofsky
Borough of Fort Lee

Councilman Michael Sargenti
Borough of Fort Lee

Councilman Harvey Sohmer
Borough of Fort Lee

Councilman Peter Suh
Borough of Fort Lee


Councilman Padraic Millet
Borough of Highland Park

Councilwoman Elsie Foster-Dublin
Borough of Highland Park

Councilman Gary Potts
Borough of Highland Park

Councilman Jon Erickson
Borough of Highland Park

Councilman Philip George
Borough of Highland Park


Councilwoman Doriann Kerber
Borough of Milltown


Councilman Theodore D. Holloway II
Borough of Paulsboro


Councilman Ernest Reevey
Borough of South Tom’s River


Mayor Nicholas Poliseno
Borough of Spotswood


Councilman Richard DeLucry


Mayor Ann Dassing


Mayor Charles Daniel


Committee Member Michael Kelly
Chatham Township


Councilman Romal D. Bullock
East Orange


Deputy Mayor Robert Apgar
Eastampton Township


Mayor Mike Trainor
Edgewater Park Township


Councilman Manny Grova Jr.


Councilman Glen Pettigano
Elmwood Park


Council President Lynne Algrant


Committeeman Richard T. Cornely
Harmony Township


Township Administrator Mark L. Gravinese
Harrison Township


Councilman Frank Padula


Councilwoman Diane Coleman
Jersey City

Councilwoman Candice Osbourne
Jersey City


Councilwoman Rhashonna Cosby-Hurling


Commissioner John J. Montillo Jr.


Mayor Victor De Luca

Deputy Mayor Kathleen M. Leventhal


Councilman Augusto Amador

Councilman Anibal Ramos Jr.

Councilman John Sharpe James

Councilwoman Gayle Chaneyfield Jenkins


Councilman Joseph R. Lawver


Mayor Liz Lempert


Councilman John M. Lamia Jr.
Sea Bright


Councilman Michael S. Di Croce, Esq.
Shamong Township


Councilman Daniel Shea
Town of Clinton


Mayor Michael J. Gonnelli
Town of Secaucus

Environmental Coordinator Amanda J. Nesheiwat
Town of Secaucus


Councilman L. T. Mascilak
Union Beach


Mayor Scott McDonald
Washington Borough (Warren County)

Councilwoman Josephine Noone
Washington Borough (Warren County)


Councilman George M. Borek
West Windsor

Councilman Peter Mendonez Jr.
West Windsor


Committeewoman Evelyn M. Leverett
Winslow Township


Councilman Daniel Reddin


Councilman Richard Gambale
Woodbury Heights