80+ PA Elected Officials Call for Strong Limits on Climate Pollution from Power Plants

Leaders across the commonwealth called on the EPA to move quickly on climate.

Nearly 30 state lawmakers and more than 50 municipal officials submitted a letter to the Environmental Protect Agency in support of ratcheting down global warming pollution from dirty power plants.


Dear Administrator Regan,

As local and state elected officials from across Pennsylvania, we write today to support the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) proposed reduction of greenhouse gasses from the power sector (EPA-HQ-OAR-2023-0072).

Representing tens of thousands of constituents, we understand firsthand how important tackling climate change is to our communities. Pennsylvania is already feeling the impacts of climate change: for example, extreme weather—including storms, flooding, and landslides—is becoming more frequent and more severe across the Keystone State. This summer is expected to be another unusually hot season, bringing more days of dangerous heat.

To avoid the worst impacts of climate change, we need to rein in carbon emissions from the nation’s dirty coal- and gas-fired power plants. The power sector is the largest source of climate pollution in Pennsylvania and second-largest source in the U.S.

We are thankful that the EPA is taking action to reduce climate pollution. The agency’s proposed carbon rule represents an important step forward, as it would reduce 617 million metric tons of carbon dioxide by 2042, which is equivalent to the annual emissions of half of all cars in the U.S.

Beyond these significant climate reductions, the rule would also reduce tens of thousands of tons of unhealthy air pollution linked to asthma, cancer, and premature death.

We believe EPA’s proposal is a critically important step forward, and encourage the agency to achieve even greater pollution reductions by covering more plants and on a faster timeline in recognition of the threat of climate change. The administration must also take action for community protections and input, including rigorous monitoring and verification of emissions, enforcement of violations, and engagement with communities, both on the state planning process and on individual projects.

We look forward to working with you and your agency to finalize these important standards by April 2024 at the latest to protect our planet and public health.


State Officials

State Senator Amanda Cappelletti

State Senator Carolyn Comitta

State Senator Vincent Hughes State

Senator Tim Kearney

State Senator Katie Muth

State Senator Nikil Saval

State Senator Judy Schwank

State Senator Lindsey Williams

State Representative Mary Jo Daley

State Representative Jason Dawkins

State Representative Elizabeth Fiedler

State Representative Dan Frankel

State Representative Danielle Friel Otten

State Representative Nancy Guenst

State Representative Tarik Khan

State Representative Patty Kim

State Representative Stephen Kinsey

State Representative Rick Krajewski

State Representative Tarah Probst

State Representative Chris Rabb

State Representative Abigail Salisbury

State Representative Benjamin Sanchez

State Representative Christine Sappey

State Representative Peter Schweyer

State Representative Greg Scott

State Representative Jared Solomon

State Representative Greg Vitali

State Representative Joe Webster

State Representative Liz Hanbidge


Local Officials

Mayor Yaniv Aronson, Conshohocken

Council President Jesse Barlow, State College

Councilman L. Eric Bernier, College Township

Councilmember Michelle Billups, Upper Darby

Commissioner Bill Bole, Abington

Councilman Kevin Boyer, Media

Councilman Joseph Boylan, Morton

Councilmember Kendra Brooks, Philadelphia

Council President Kathryn Cloyd, Oxford

Councilperson Christopher Crook, Nazareth

Councilwoman Janet Diaz, Lancaster

Councilmember Alice Elia, Chambersburg

Councilman Uri Feiner, Yardley

Councilperson Alice Gabriel, Etna

Mayor Ed Gainey, Pittsburgh

Councilmember Jamie Gauthier, Philadelphia

County Commissioner Bob Harvie,Bucks

Councilperson Amy High, Bridgeport

Councilmember Bruce Hockersmith, Shippensburg

Councilperson Kathleen Horwatt,Langhorne

Councilman James Huber, Bloomsburg

Mayor Beth Jacksier, Bridgeport

Commissioner Gilda Kramer, Lower Merion

Councilman Bruce Kraus, Pittsburgh

Commissioner Jim Lee, Springfield

Commissioner Cheryl Lockard, Upper Moreland

County Councilmember Kevin Madden, Delaware

Township Supervisor Sultan Magruder, Patton

County Commissioner Josh Maxwell, Chester

Mayor Neil McDevitt, North Wales

Supervisor Tessie McNeely, Lower Gwynedd

Commissioner Martin Miller, West Norriton

County Commissioner Marian Moskowitz, Chester

Councilmember Alexander Myers, Hatboro

Supervisor Gary Neights, Lower Providence

Councilperson Mark Paikoff, Media

Councilmember Dick Poot, Coopersburg

Mayor Brittany Reno, Sharpsburg

Council President David Rinaldi, Clarks Green

Township Supervisor Pamela Robb, Patton

Mayor David Schiffgens, Red Hill

Mayor Tim Schultz, Hatboro

Councilwoman Jessica Semler, Etna

Councilmember Moshe Sherman, Edgewood

Township Supervisor Patricia Stephens, Ferguson

Councilmember Erika Strassburger, Pittsburgh

Township Supervisor Daniel Trevino, Patton

Councilperson Barb Warwick, Pittsburgh

Supervisor Fredric Weiss, Lower Makefield

Mayor Noni West, Doylestown

Township Supervisor Betsy Whitman, Patton

Supervisor Sharon Yates, Valley Township

Find Out More